More info about rates & qualities

PADAM sings Bach Goldberg Variations

Kamerkoor Padam



Year of release: 2017

1. ARIA I Bach 06:39
2. Variation 1 Sie Lob und Ehr dem hochsten Gut Bach 01:30
3. Variation 2 Sehet welch eine Liebe Bach 01:14
4. Variation 3 Nun Bach 01:12
5. Variation 4 Bleib bei uns, denn es will Abend werden Bach 03:33
6. Variation 5 Nun komm Bach 00:58
7. Variation 6 Es ist genug Bach 00:45
8. Variation 7 Instrumental Bach 01:08
9. Variation 8 Instrumental Bach 01:04
10. Variation 9 Es ist euch gut, dass ich hingehe Bach 01:26
11. Variation 10 Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Gluck Bach 00:49
12. Variation 11 Wo gehest du hin? Bach 01:09
13. Variation 12 Ich ruf zu dir Bach 01:15
14. Variation 13 Ruhe sanfte , sanfte Ruh! Bach 03:48
15. Variation 14 Instrumental Bach 01:12
16. Variation 15 Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen, Angst und Not Bach 02:48
17. Variation 16 Instrumental Bach 01:47
18. Variation 17 Instrumental Bach 01:15
19. Variation 18 Lasst uns sorgen, lasst uns wachen Bach 01:40
20. Variation 19 Wachet auf Bach 00:43
21. Variation 20 Komm Bach 01:08
22. Variation 21 Ich bin ein Pilgrim auf der Welt Bach 01:51
23. Variation 22 Instrumental Bach 00:43
24. Variation 23 Instrumental Bach 01:21
25. Variation 24 Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen! Bach 01:42
26. Variation 25 Ich steh miet einem Fuss im Grabe, bald fallt der kranke Leib hinein Bach 03:56
27. Variation 26 Tonet, ihr Pauken! Erschallet, Trompeten! Bach 01:08
28. Variation 27 Wachet! Betet! Betet! Wachet! Bach 01:18
29. Nein, ja Bach 01:04
30. Variation 29 Hahaha, hik Bach 01:19
31. Variation 30 Kraut und Ruben Bach 01:32
32. ARIA II Bach 05:21

About this album

JS Bach Goldberg Variations BWW 988 Re-composition for choir & baroque ensemble by Gustavo Trujillo 

The Goldberg Variation – The original 

The original title reads: Clavier Übung / bestehend / in einer ARIA / mit verschiedenen Verænderungen / vors Clavecimbal / mit 2 Manualen. / Denen Liebhabern zur Gemüths- / Ergetzung verfertiget von / Johann Sebastian Bach / Königl. Pohl. u. Churfl. Sæchs. Hoff- / Compositeur, Capellmeister, u. Directore / Chori Musici in Leipzig. / Nürnberg in Verlegung / Balthasar Schmid  Keyboard exercise, consisting of an ARIA with diverse variations for harpsichord with two manuals. Composed for connoisseurs, for the refreshment of their spirits, by Johann Sebastian Bach, composer for the royal court of Poland and the Electoral court of Saxony, Kapellmeister and Director of Choral Music in Leipzig. Nuremberg, Balthasar Schmid, publisher. 

Count Hermann Carl von Keyserlingk of Dresden suffered from insomnia and during his wakeful nights he enjoyed listening to music played by his private harpsichordist, Johann Gottlieb Goldberg, who was at that time just 14 years old! To cheer the count up, Bach was commissioned to compose a piece for this young keyboard virtuoso. Alas there is no shred of evidence to confirm the truth of this nice story – it is a description of the conception of the Goldberg Variations, written in 1802 by Nicholas Forkal, an early Bach biographer. 

Since the beginning of the 19th century there have been numerous adaptations and arrangements of the Goldberg Variations. The work was obviously composed for a keyboard instrument, but the contrapuntal style of writing makes it very appealing for performance with other instrumental ensembles; imitations and canons form the core of the ‘keyboard practice’. The variations are predominantly three-or four-voice, with a clear harmonic progression and a melodic range appropriate for most instruments. 

The work is full of fine melodies, canons and fugues. Some of the variations were originally from songs, such as the Aria and the Quodlibet; other variations almost beg to be sung. That is why the idea was born to rewrite the Goldberg Variations for 16 voices. 

It was challenging to produce an arrangement which sounds like authentic Bach vocal music; not sung keyboard music, but an idiomatic management of the choir, using vocal lines and singable melodies with text for articulation and phrasing. Not a literal arrangement, but a re-composition of the Goldberg Variations.

Download booklet


Stretto (Dec. 2017)

Pa'dam zingt! Bachs Goldbergvariaties. Heel, heel bijzonder!

Vocaal / KCZB (Dec. 2017)

Er wordt schitterend gemusiceerd op de CD. Koor en instrumenten maken er een feest van om dit monumentale werk van Bach op deze manier uit te voeren. Het koor blijft soepel en transparant klinken in de complexe en virtuoze ritmiek.

Pizzicato (Jan. 2018)

Gustavo Trujillo’s transcription of Bach’s Goldberg Variations for voices and instrumental ensemble is original and expressive in its own way. The Dutch chamber choir PA’dam is excellent, while Collegium Delft’s contribution is just basic. However, that doesn’t prevent us from saying that this is a really interesting release.

Technical Specifications

Recording Type Bit RateDSD64
Recording SoftwareMerging
Recording LocationWaalse Kerk, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Recording EngineerTom Peeters
ProducerTom Peeters
Mixing BoardRens Heijnis custom made
MicrophonesBruel & Kyaer
Mastering EngineerTom Peeters
Editing SoftwarePyramix
Digital ConvertersdCS