More info about rates & qualities

Francesco Supriani - Principles to learn to play the cello

Guillermo Turina, Eugenia Boix, Tomoko Matsuoka



Year of release: 2016

Sinfonia di violoncello a solo 08:19
1. Amoroso Supriani 02:04
2. Allegro Assai Supriani 03:07
3. Larghetto Supriani 01:22
4. Presto Supriani 01:45
Cantata il mio cor che sta in catene 07:31
5. Aria Supriani 03:47
6. Recitativo Supriani 00:37
7. Aria Supriani 03:06
8. Toccata settima Supriani 02:16
9. Toccata settima con diminuzione Supriani 03:03
10. Toccata duocecima Supriani 02:15
11. Toccata decima con diminuzione Supriani 02:31
Cantata Chi m?invola da te, mio beltesoro? 04:04
12. Recitativo Supriani 00:42
13. Aria. Amoroso Supriani 02:51
14. Recitativo Supriani 00:31
Cantata Chi m?invola da te, mio beltesoro? - 02:23
15. Aria. Larghetto Supriani 02:23
16. Toccata quinta Supriani 02:47
17. Toccata quinta con diminuzione Supriani 04:28
18. Toccata nona con diminuzione Supriani 04:26
19. Toccata undecima con diminuzione Supriani 04:20
Cantata Bella, se un di potessi 08:48
20. Recitativo Supriani 01:13
21. Aria. Larghetto Supriani 03:41
22. Recitativo Supriani 00:55
23. Aria. Andante Supriani 02:58
Sonata a violoncello solo 06:36
24. Andante Supriani 02:08
25. Allegro Supriani 01:28
26. Adagio Supriani 01:32
27. Presto Supriani 01:27

About this album

Principles to learn to play the cello

Little is known about Francesco Supriani’s life. Born in the city of Conversano on July 11th 1678, it was probably where he began his musical studies. In 1708 he was appointed rst cello of the Real Capilla de Barcelona, recently founded by violinist Giuseppe Porsile for Archduke Charles of Austria. In this way, Francesco Supriani became the rst musician in Spain to be considered a cellist. After two years of service in the Real Capilla, Supriani returned to Naples in 1710 and joined the Real Cappella until 1730. There he shared music with some of the great musicians of the time, such as kapellmeister Alessandro Scarlatti. After his service in the court, he retired, keeping his wages as retirement pension, although he was allowed to play in solemn occasions. Francesco Supriani died in Naples on August 28th 1753.

The limited amount of his works that have survived to our days are very interesting due to the light it sheds on the technical possibilities of an instrument which was, until that time, focused fundamentally to the basso continuo. The present recording is the rst monography dedicated to Francesco Supriani’s music and is a perfect example of the variety of his small catalogue.

Baroque cellist Guillermo Turina, soprano Eugenia Boix and harpsichordist Tomoko Matsuoka have been playing together since 2012 in several Spanish ensembles. Since then, the discovery and study of Francesco Supriani’s marvelous music led Guillermo Turina to direct this project, with the strong intention of bringing his music to its well-deserved position in the History of Music as one of the most important antecessors of cello playing. 

Download booklet


Technical Specifications

Recording Software Merging, Pyramix
Recording Type Bit Rate DSD64
Recording Location Koepelkerk, Renswoude, The Nederlands
Recording Engineer Tom Peeters
Producer Tom Peeters
Mixing Board Rens Heijnis custom made
Microphones Bruel & Kjaer 4003 modified by Rens Heijnis
Mastering Engineer Tom Peeters
Editing Software Pyramix
Digital Converters dCS